iPhone Notes ‘reverting’ when saved

I’m still searching for the ultimate notes/scratchpad type application on my iPhone – and in the meantime I’m using the inbuilt Notes application.

Recently for a couple of specific notes, whenever I’d make changes and save them the UI would update, but after a short time they’d revert back to how they were before the edit.

The hint should have been the icon showing a flash of network activity – somehow a couple of the notes got associated to my Gmail account, which had ‘Sync Notes’ (in Mail Settings) turned on. I didn’t even know that was a feature, or when it was added (blaming iOS4 is pretty easy, so lets run with that for now) – because it’s a kind of neat feature, but it would have been nice to know it was happening.

Sure enough, in Gmail’s Notes label (which I’d not noticed before) there were a couple of duplicates (slick conflict handling there) – I simply deleted one of them and the editing/syncing started working again. You could of course turn off syncing, but now that I know it’s there I’m going to try using it in other ways.

Tags: ,

Posted on Wednesday, July 28, 2010 8:59 AM |

Like this? Share it!

  • # re: iPhone Notes ‘reverting’ when saved
    Gravatar
    Commented on 8/11/2010 8:05 AM

    This is very very helpful. Thought it was a jailbreak issue when it first happened. Thanks.

Post a comment
Please add 1 and 1 and type the answer here:
Remember me?
Ensure the word in this box says 'orange':